Jim Jordan Shames Pelosi With New Bill To Hold Rioters Accountable: “It’s time for Democrats To hold anarchists and criminals accountable for their lawlessness”

Reps. Jim Jordan (R-OH) and Debbie Lesko (R-AZ), just shamed Nancy Pelosi and House Democrats while putting the rioters and looters on notice.

Those two and several other House Republicans introduced a new bill to hold the rioters to account for the destruction they cause and to make sure local officials follow the law.

They released a statement announcing the move:

Today, U.S. Congresswoman Debbie Lesko (AZ-08) and Ranking Member of the House Committee on the Judiciary, Jim Jordan (R-OH-04), introduced the Holding Rioters Accountable Act of 2020 to hold the rioters responsible for destruction across our nation accountable for their actions and ensure local officials do not turn a blind eye to the chaos in our cities.

We have laws in our country for a reason and if cities and states choose not to uphold them, they should not be rewarded with money from federal grants,” said Congresswoman Lesko following the introduction of the bill.

“I hope this bill will incentivize cities and states to follow the law and hold rioters accountable. There is no place in our nation for this lawlessness.”

The bill grants the attorney general the authority to withhold up to 10 percent of Department of Justice (DOJ) grants from cities and states where prosecutors are failing to prosecute crimes arising from riots and other violent protests.

The DOJ is responsible for determining prosecutorial misconduct for the purposes of implementing this legislation.

“Chaos and violence have no place in American cities,” said Ranking Member Jordan.

“It’s time for Democrats to denounce violent left-wing extremism, reject efforts to defund the police, and hold anarchists and criminals accountable for their lawlessness.”

The other House Republicans co-sponsored the bill are:

Reps. Ted Budd (R-NC-, Michael Burgess (R-TX),

Doug Collins (R-GA), Jeff Duncan (R-SC), Matt Gaetz (R-FL),

Bob Gibbs (R-OH), Paul Gosar (R-AZ), Michael Guest (R-MS),

Jody Hice (R-GA), Fred Keller (R-PA), Guy Reschenthaler (R-PA),

Greg Steube (R-FL), Tom Tiffany (R-WI), Randy Weber (R-TX), and Ted Yoho (R-FL).

Sharing is caring!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *